Skip To Main Content

School Community Council (SCC)

School Community Council


School Community Councils (SCCs) improve educational programs and conditions at public schools. Councils operate using the shared governance approach: collaborative, site-based decision making to meet individual school improvement goals. Every public school in Utah has a community council consisting of two elected groups: parents and teachers/administrators.

The Highland Park SCC has responsibilities defined both by the Salt Lake City School District and the Utah Legislature. Two of our biggest responsibilities are assisting in the development of School Improvement Plans (SIPs) and LAND Trust Plans. SCCs also work on issues brought forth by parents, staff, and faculty (local examples are school walking safety and arts funding).

How can I get involved with Highland Park SCC?

  • Attend meetings – 3rd Thursday of every month at 6PM
  • Read the minutes – available on school website
  • Become an elected member – parents represent their neighborhood communities and serve a 2-year term
  • Contact the SCC chairperson with questions and concerns to be addressed


School Community Council Meetings

We invite you to attend the Highland Park SCC meetings to learn about our greatest academic needs and our School Improvement Plan, and to help in the decision-making process for using LAND Trust funds. At Highland Park we also regularly discuss school safety, budgets, and District news, and talk about other important issues affecting our school. You have a voice! Together we can make a positive difference in the education of our children.

SCC Meetings are regularly held on the 3rd Thursday of the month at 6PM on Zoom.A link will be sent by email by Mrs. Cluff.  Currently the members listed below were last school year’s members.

School Community Council Members

Jessica Balderas SCC Chair 801-580-6935
Debora Cluff Principal 801-481-4833
Shannon Higgens Vice Principal 801-481-4833
Heidi Boogert SIC Chair 801-481-4833 ext. 181
Timothy Wolfe SIC 801-481-4833
  SCC Vice    
  SLTA Rep    
Jenny Kearl SCC Secretary upon request upon request
Kim Francis Arts Night Chair    
April Garff PTA Co-Chair 310-909-4183
Emily Koelliker PTA Co-Chair 801-573-7160
Spring Smith Parent    
Edie Morgan Parent    
Gene McIntyre Parent    
Bruce Simpson Parent    
Erica Chamblee Parent    
Jennifer Larkin Parent    
Heather Parry Parent    
Sonal Kerr Parent    
Cindy Remke Parent    


School Community Council Meetings