Skip To Main Content

School Community Council (SCC)

School Community Council

School Community Councils (SCCs) improve educational programs and conditions at public schools. Councils operate using the shared governance approach: collaborative, site-based decision making to meet individual school improvement goals. Every public school in Utah has a community council consisting of two elected groups: parents and teachers/administrators.

The Highland Park SCC has responsibilities defined both by the Salt Lake City School District and the Utah Legislature. Two of our biggest responsibilities are assisting in the development of School Improvement Plans (SIPs) and LAND Trust Plans. SCCs also work on issues brought forth by parents, staff, and faculty (local examples are school walking safety and arts funding).

How can I get involved with Highland Park SCC?

  • Attend meetings – 3rd Thursday of every month at 6PM
  • Read the minutes – available on school website
  • Become an elected member – parents represent their neighborhood communities and serve a 2-year term
  • Contact the SCC chairperson with questions and concerns to be addressed

 

School Community Council Meetings

We invite you to attend the Highland Park SCC meetings to learn about our greatest academic needs and our School Improvement Plan, and to help in the decision-making process for using LAND Trust funds. At Highland Park we also regularly discuss school safety, budgets, and District news, and talk about other important issues affecting our school. You have a voice! Together we can make a positive difference in the education of our children.

SCC Meetings are regularly held on the 3rd Thursday of the month at 6PM on Zoom.A link will be sent by email by Mrs. Cluff.  Currently the members listed below were last school year’s members.

School Community Council Members

NAME POSITION EMAIL PHONE NUMBER
Jennifer Larkin SCC Chair larkinjennifer@gmail.com 801-350-1792
Debora Cluff Principal debora.cluff@slcschools.org 801-481-4833 
Shannon Higgins Vice Principal/Vice Chair shannon.higgins@slcschools.org 801-481-4833
Mercedes Barica SIC Chair mercedes.barica@slcschools.org 801-481-4833 ext. 1510
Timothy Wolfe SIC timothy.wolfe@slcschools.org 801-481-4833
  SCC Secretary    
Heidi Boogert SLTA Rep heidi.boogert@slcschools.org 801-481-4833
Kim Francis Arts Night Chair kimberlyfrancis@hotmail.com 801-647-3488
Spring Smith PTA President and Parent Springesmith@gmail.com 801-608-9563
Erica Chamblee Parent echamblee@gmail.com 801-558-8878
Cindy Remke Parent cynthiaremke@gmail.com 801-362-6511
Amanda Longwell Parent and Special Education Parent Advocate amanda.longwell@hotmail.com 801-694-9056
Marianne Tyson Parent mtyson72@gmail.com 801-792-0297
Valarie Blamires SIC Rep/Employee valarie.blamires@slcschools.org 801-481-4833
Jennifer Kearl Parent/District Employee jennykearl@gmail.com 801-680-7417
       

 

School Community Council Meetings